23, September 2010
The Jury for the The Hunger Project’s Sarojini Naidu Prize (SNP) for Best Reporting on Women in Panchayati Raj met at the India International Centre Annexe to decide the 2010 winners.

The SNP is awarded annually to journalists in three categories with the aim of encouraging the press to energetically and prominently report the breakthroughs and success stories of women’s leadership throughout India.

This year, 2,122 articles were submitted, and 47 of them were shortlisted for the Jury to choose winners in the categories of English, Hindi and Other Regional Languages. Jury members include:

  • Chair: Dr. George Mathew, Director, Institute of Social Sciences
  • Dr. S.S. Meenakshisundaram, Executive Vice Chairman, MYRADA
  • Ms. Urvashi Butalia, Co-founder, Kali for Women and Director, Zubaan
  • Ms. Pamela Phillipose, Director, Women’s Feature Service
  • Ms. Mani Mala, Director, Gandhi Smriti & Darshan Samiti.

 After much debate, dialogue and discussion the Jury selected the following winners:

  • Hindi Category – Rumni Ghosh for her article “Be Careful, Here Lives Amosa Bai” (Published in Dainik Bhaskar, Indore)
  • English Category – Preeti Nagaraj for her article “From Homeless Tribals to GP Chief” (Published in Deccan Herald, Mysore)
  • Other Indian Languages Category – Bornali Boruah for her article “Panchayati Raj Brings Change Amidst Two Leaves and a Bud” (Published in Ajir Asom, Dibrugarh)

Learn more about the Sarojini Naidu Prize or read more about our work in India, meet Rita our India Country Director.

Find out more about other Hunger Project key initiatives that are empowering people to end their own hunger or help us do more, give now.